Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2021

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2021 – How to Apply.


The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is one of the largest and mostprestigious scholarship schemes for international study in the world. Since it was establishedin 1959, around 35,000 individuals have benefited – 27,000 of them have held awardsfunded by the UK government, managed by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission inthe United Kingdom (CSC).

Degree Level:

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships is available to undertake Masters level programs at Bangor University, Ulster University, University of Edinburgh, University of Salford, University of St Andrews, Cardiff University, Leeds Beckett University, London School of Tropical Medicine, Queen Mary University of London, University of Aberdeen, University of Manchester, University of Strathclyde, University of Oxford, Queen’s University Belfast, Loughborough University, University of Portsmouth, University of Southampton, University of York.

Available Subjects:

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are offered under six themes:

  1. Science and technology for development
  1. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  1. Promoting global prosperity
  1. Strengthening global peace, security and governance

(Note: Only those who have been asked by University of Oxford can apply for their course)

  1. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  1. Access, inclusion and opportunity

Eligible Nationalities:

Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, The Gambia, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia

Eligibility Criteria:

To apply for these scholarships, candidates must:

  • Be a citizen of, or be granted refugee status in, an eligible developing Commonwealth country (see overleaf), or be a British Protected Person;
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.

Application Procedure:

You must make your application using the CSC’s online application system which you can find via CSC website. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the online application system. You must also secure admission to an eligible Master’s course at a UK university that is participating in the Distance Learning scheme.

All applications must be submitted by the first deadline of midday 16.00 (GMT) on 13 April 2020. Your application must include the following supporting documentation by second deadline of 16:00 (GMT) on 4 May 2020 in order for your application to be eligible for consideration:

  • Proof of citizenship or refugee status – uploaded to the online application system
  • At least one reference– submitted directly by the referee to the online application system (referees will be sent an email request)
  • An offer letter to start their chosen course of study in the 2020-2021 academic year – uploaded to the online application system
  • Full transcripts detailing all your higher education qualifications (with certified translations if not in English) – uploaded to the online application system

For more information on other scholarships offered by the CSC, visit the CSC Apply page.

How to Apply

Interested applicants should APPLY HERE.

Application Deadline: 13th April 2020. Protection Status