Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship Programs 2023/2024

Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship Programs 2023/2024 (Fully-Funded) – Eligibility, Application Form & How to Apply.

Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship programs (Fully-funded2023/2024: The University of Edinburgh will offer a one-year postgraduate scholarship to a student domiciled in Tanzania to study a Masters-level program in the Centre of African Studies.

Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship Programs 2023/2024

Application Deadline: 15th June 2023.

Eligible African Countries: Tanzania

To be taken at (country): University of Edinburgh UK

About Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship programs: The Julius Nyerere Scholarship was set up in 2009 in memory of Mwalimu Julius Nyerere who led Tanganyika to independence in 1961 and became the first prime minister and later president of Tanzania. Nyerere received a scholarship in 1949 to attend the University of Edinburgh where he obtained a Masters of Arts degree that saw him study courses in English, Political Economy, Social Anthropology, British History, Economic History, Constitutional Law, and Moral Philosophy.

Type: Masters

Selection Criteria:

  • Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship will be awarded on the basis of academic excellence. Candidates must have, or expect to obtain, the equivalent of a UK first class or 2.1 Honours degree at undergraduate level in a Humanities or Social Science subject.
  • Candidates must submit a Personal Statement for the scholarship application which should clearly state why you are applying for this scholarship, along with your experience and aspirations in the field of Africa and International Development.
  • Candidates must also arrange for two referees to submit reference letters supporting their application.
  • Please note: The Nyerere Scholarship cannot be held alongside any other scholarship funding.

Eligibility: The award will be made to a student domiciled in Tanzania who is accepted on a full-time basis for the MSc in Africa and International Development.

Number of Scholarships: 1

Value of Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship: The scholarship will cover Tuition Fees and an annual stipend of £13,500.

Duration: The scholarships will be tenable for one academic year.

How to Apply for Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship: The scholarship deadline is 23:59 GMT 15th June 2023.

Further information on how to apply will follow shortly. 


In order to gain access to the scholarship application system, applicants must have applied for admission to the University of Edinburgh.  Please note that, following the submission of an application for admission, it can take up to ten working days for all system checks to be completed and for access to be granted.

The online scholarship application form is located in EUCLID and can be accessed via MyEd our web-based information portal at https://www.myed.ed.ac.uk

When logging in to MyEd, you will need your University User Name and password. If you require assistance, please go to http://www.ed.ac.uk/student-systems/support-guidance

  • Eligible applicants will complete an online scholarship application.
  • Information on how to apply will follow shortly 

Visit Scholarship Webpage for details

Leave a Reply

DMCA.com Protection Status